A Rookie and A “Lifer” Take on the ESGH Summer Camp Program

I have already learned so much in my first week interning at Easter Seals Greater Houston’s Camp Buckaroo Day Camp even though the camp has barely begun (Camps run June 4th – July 20th). The special bond the counselors share with the campers encourages the campers to try new things and truly enjoy camp. Camp Buckaroo is such an incredible experience and I could not have a more rewarding job this summer. These first campers were an amazing group and they seemed to have the best time. I am amazed at how organized a summer camp can be and yet how much fun it can be at the same time. I am very appreciative that I have this internship this summer as it provides me with a lot of practical experience in organizing a successful camp that provides the best possible experience for the campers.
by Katie McArthur, Texas A&M University

This summer I have had the opportunity to be a summer intern with Easter Seals Greater Houston. This is my fifth summer working with Easter Seals and I learn something new every summer. This summer specifically, I have begun to understand how hard Easter Seals works to provide camp to the many kids it serves and how much work and funding it takes to make all six sessions of Camp Buckaroo and the one week of Camp Smiles overnight camp a reality. I feel privileged getting to see the joy on each campers face as they arrive in the morning ready for camp.  Each day the campers get to experience something new from karate to dance to yoga. Camp Buckaroo is a wonderful combination of children experiencing adapted, hands-on activities and volunteers helping break down the barriers with them. I love going to work every day and I thank everyone who helps support Easter Seals for making it happen.
By Margaret Johnson, University of Alabama

Leave a comment

Filed under Latest News

Leave a Reply

